The Jill A. Hopper Award

Each year, the CGES Alumni Association awards one second-year MAGES student the Jill A. Hopper Award at the conclusion of the MAGES Final Colloquium where second-year students present their final MAGES projects. Created in 1999 to honor the memory of Jill Alexandra Hopper (class of 1996), the Hopper Award recognizes dedication to academic service and scholarship. Throughout her time at Georgetown, Jill maintained the highest standards for herself both inside and outside the classroom. Her commitment to academic excellence earned her the admiration of classmates as well as recognition within the broader academic community of scholars. Her talent for inspiring others to excel indelibly marked her class; her enthusiasm and optimism enlivened the Center. The Jill A. Hopper Award celebrates her example and encourages others to aspire to the same standards. Hopper Award nominees are selected via a two-tiered process of peer nomination, and the CGES Alumni Association selects the recipient based on the quality of her or his thesis project and demonstrated excellence in and outside the classroom.

The 2017 Hopper Award Recipient is Triet Pham, whose project is entitled "The Apple Case and the EU Dream of Corporate Tax Harmonization." 















Past Hopper Award Recipients:

2017     Triet Pham
2016     Brent McDonnell
2015     Timothy Schmalz
2014     Emily Sieg
2013     Robert Mevissen
2012     Susan Fratzke
2011     Michael McKeon
2010     Halley Aelion
2009     Lindsay Pettingill
2008     Morgan Schupbach
2007     Jordan White
2006     Thrine Kane
2005     Sharyn Claffey
2004     A. Wess Mitchell
2003     Aspen Brinton
2002     Nathan Galer
2001     Allyson Kozal
2000     Alexander Merrow